1. Home
  2. Email
  3. How to Stop Junk Mail From Being Deleted Automatically

How to Stop Junk Mail From Being Deleted Automatically

Shared

VPS

Dedicated

WP Professional Plus

WP Enthusiast and WP Professional hosting accounts can use this tutorial if the Email Add On has been enabled.

Mailboxes created in the Account Control Center (ACC) have a Junk folder that stores email that the junk mail filtering has deemed as spam or junk. In order to keep your mailbox from using large amounts of data, the Junk folder will automatically delete mail that has been there longer than 60 days. This is intended to help keep your folders manageable and conserve your account’s disk space.

Note that this 60 day deletion only applies to mail in your Junk folders. All other folders will store your emails normally. 

If you would prefer to keep your Junk mail longer than 60 days, you will need to select a different folder to store your junk mail in.

How to Stop Junk Mail From Being Deleted

To stop junk mail from being deleted, you must choose a different folder for junk mail storage. If you don’t want it to be stored in any of your current folders, you must create a new one.

After you have selected a folder, you must redirect the junk mail. To do this:

  1. Log in to the Account Control Center (ACC)
  2. Click E-Mail in the left sidebar
  3. Click E-mail Settings in the drop-downemail settings image
  4. In the Mailbox Usage section, click the Mailboxes currently configured linkmailbox currently configured image
  5. Click the name of your preferred mailboxemail address image
  6. Under Junk E-mail Filtering, select Store junk in another mail folder and enter the name of the new folder in the boxjunk mail option image
  7. Click Commit Changes at the bottom of the page

You must create the folder in your webmail before you can enter the name here. If the folder has not already been created, the mail will not be redirected. You can go to log into your mailbox’s webmail to create one.

A green banner will appear at the top of the page if the changes are successfully committed.

Updated on January 8, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles