1. Home
  2. Weebly
  3. Removing Weebly From Your Domain

Removing Weebly From Your Domain

This article outlines the different ways you can remove Weebly and domains using Weebly on your Pair Networks hosting accounts. 

Removing Weebly From a Domain on Shared and Weebly E-Commerce Accounts

Shared

Please note that this tutorial will leave the domain on the account for future use, but will remove the Weebly Site Builder from it. 

In order to remove the Weebly Site Builder on your Shared or Weebly E-Commerce account without deleting the domain entirely, you need to change the domain's hosting type. If you wish to delete the domain from your hosting account, see the Deleting a Domain Using Weebly from Shared and Weebly E-Commerce Accounts section below

  1. Log in to the Account Control Center (ACC)
  2. In the left sidebar, click Domains
  3. In the drop-down, click Manage Your Domain Names
  4. Select the domain name that is being used for Weebly
  5. On the next page, click on the Change Domain Name Hosting button
  6. Choose the new domain hosting type. Your Weebly site will be permanently deleted if you choose a hosting type other than Weebly.

If you delete a Weebly domain, you will still be charged for the remaining time on your Weebly plan. 

If you create a new Weebly domain after deleting one, you will be charged for two Weebly plans. If you plan to open a new Weebly plan after deleting one, we recommend you instead Move Your Weebly Site to a New Domain and then redesign your Weebly site. This will keep you from being charged twice. 

Deleting a Domain That is Using Weebly From Shared and Weebly E-Commerce Accounts

Please note: Using this method will delete the domain from your hosting account entirely. If you would prefer to just remove the Weebly Site Builder, but keep the domain on the account, please see the Removing Weebly from a Domain on Shared or Weebly E-Commerce account above

To remove Weebly from your domain, follow these steps: 

  1. Log in to the Account Control Center (ACC)
  2. In the left sidebar, click Add Ons
  3. In the drop-down, click Weebly Site Builder
  4. In the Weebly Sites section, find the domain you would like to remove the Weebly Site Builder from
  5. Click that domain's Action button
  6. In the drop-down, click Delete
  7. On the next page, click the Delete [domain] button

Keep in mind that once Weebly is deleted, your Weebly site will go offline and all other services related to the domain name will stop working within an hour, including mailboxes and mail recipes. 

If you delete a Weebly domain, you will still be charged for the remaining time on your Weebly plan. 

If you create a new Weebly domain after deleting one, you will be charged for two Weebly plans. If you plan to open a new Weebly plan after deleting one, we recommend you instead Move Your Weebly Site to a New Domain and then redesign your Weebly site. This will keep you from being charged twice. 

Deleting a Domain Using Weebly From Domain on Weebly Site Builder Hosting

To remove Weebly Site Builder from a domain, you will need to delete the domain from the Weebly Site Builder Hosting account. Doing so will immediately remove any website you built with Weebly on that domain. 

To remove your domain from Weebly Site Builder Hosting, follow these steps: 

  1. Log in to the Account Control Center (ACC)
  2. In the Weebly Sites section, find the domain you would like to remove the Weebly Site Builder from
  3. Click that domain's Action button
  4. In the drop-down, click Delete
  5. On the next page, click the Delete [domain] button

Keep in mind that once the Weebly Site Builder is deleted, your Weebly site will go offline and all other services related to the domain name will stop working within an hour, including mailboxes and mail recipes. 

If you delete a Weebly domain, you will still be charged for the remaining time on your Weebly plan. 

If you create a new Weebly domain after deleting one, you will be charged for two Weebly plans. If you plan to open a new Weebly plan after deleting one, we recommend you instead Move Your Weebly Site to a New Domain and then redesign your Weebly site. This will keep you from being charged twice. 

Updated on January 22, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles