What is Blacklisting?
Blacklisting is a way to reject emails based on a condition. For example, you may blacklist an email from a certain address or with a certain word in the subject line. Blacklisting is typically used as a way to keep spam from making it into your account.
If you were to blacklist an email address, any mail from that address would automatically be rejected. No mail from that address would make it into your inbox until you removed it from the blacklist.
You can set up blacklisting rules directly on your mailboxes in the Account Control Center (ACC).
- Log in to the ACC
- Click E-Mail in the left sidebar, then click Manage Junk E-Mail Filter Settings
- Scroll to Additional Junk E-Mail Filtering Options section at the bottom of the page
- Click Add, Remove, or View Rejected Addresses
There are two different ways you can add rejected addresses.
Add a Single Rejected Address
In the first section, under the Add Rejected Addresses header, you can add a single address that should be rejected. Next to Rejected Addresses, enter the address into the field. You can add any additional comments in the field next to Comments.
Once completed, click the Add Rejected Addresses button. The address will appear under the E-mail sent with these Addresses will be rejected where possible or marked as “Junk” header.
Add a List of Rejected Addresses
The file should be in plain text, with each rejected address on its own line.
When the file has been added, click the Upload button. If the file is formatted correctly, the new rejected addresses will be added to the list under the last header, E-mail sent with these addresses will be rejected where possible or marked as “Junk” header.
How to Remove Rejected Addresses
If you no longer want an address on the list to be rejected, you can remove it from the rejected address list under E-mail sent with these addresses will be rejected where possible or marked as “Junk” header.
Check the box next to the address(es) you would like to remove, then click the Remove Selected button at the bottom of the list.
Once addresses are deleted from the list, they will no longer be automatically rejected or marked as junk.