WP Hosting Backups Types

These features are only available for WP Enthusiast, WP Professional, or WP Professional Plus hosting accounts.

This is an overview of the types of WordPress hosting backups that are available on your pair Networks' account.

Manual Backups

You can create backups on-demand in your WP hosting Account Control Center. These are one-time backups that you initiate manually. Our backup system makes a dump of the database, backs up all WP files in its installation directory, as well as pair Networks’ metadata about the installation itself.

Please keep in mind that manual backups will count towards your hosting account’s disk space.

For more information about taking and managing manual backups, see our articles:

Automatic Backups

Automatic backups can be configured in the Account Control Center of your WP hosting account. These backups can be configured to automatically backup on a certain day of the week or every day. Individual sites can be configured with custom backup settings, which allows for differing backup settings per site. There is also a default backup settings that you can edit, allowing you to set the default option for your sites. You can also specify the number of backups that are allowed to be stored per site.

Automatic backups also count toward your hosting account’s disk space. The maximum number of backups that can be stored per site is five, which helps preserve your account’s storage space. When the backup limit is reached, the oldest backup will be deleted to make room for the newest backup.

For more information about setting up and managing your automatic backups, see our articles:

File Backups

File backups are an add-on feature that allows users to take backups of their files. These backups are customer accessible and, when enabled, give users access to a new file backup interface. This interface allows users to view and restore individual files from their backups.

This type of backup is ideal for fixing user errors and minor mistakes. File backups are taken once a day and stored in off-server drives. Since these backups are not stored on your server, you can decide the amount of storage space that these backups take up. The size you choose will determine the price of the backup.

When the storage quota is reached, the oldest backups will be deleted in order to make room for the new backups. If deleting the oldest backup does not free up enough space for a new backup, older backups will be deleted until there is enough room within your quota for the new backup.

Updated on October 26, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles